Shining in the Darkness


Shining in the Darkness, the first game in the Shining Series, was originally a crawler for the Mega Drive/Genesis console, but later re-released for the Wii Virtual Console and Windows. The game also appears in Sonic’s Ultimate Genesis Collection for Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3.

Princess Jessa, along with the loyal knight Mortred, has gone missing in the vicinity of the Labyrinth. King Drake and his aides have no clue as to where she is. As Mortred’s son, join forces with Milo and Pyra in a quest to find the princess.

The game opens in the Kingdom of Thornwood. The silent protagonist, Hiro, asks to join a search for the missing Princess Jessa. Hiro believes that finding the Princess will also lead him to his missing father, Mortred. Mephisto (mistranslated as “Dark Sol” in English versions) shows up in the castle and claims if King Drake steps down he will return the Princess. Hiro is joined by his friends Pyra Myst and Milo Brax. He also receives advice from the King’s minister. Hiro must face four Trials of the Ancients – Strength, Wisdom, Courage and Truth – before he can find the Princess and his father.


Shining in the Darkness average rating 3.9/5 - 26 user ratings

More information


Screenshots (Sega Mega Drive (Genesis))

Video - Keep calm and crawl dungeons!
Copyright © 2014. All rights reserved. Disclaimer